Behold…the Kobe Beef Hot Dog

4 Oct

Last week, I had the pleasure of dining at “urban tavern” Post 390 in Boston. Not only did they have a pretty solid beer selection (including my favorite IPA of the moment – Bear Republic’s Racer 5), but they had a hot dog on the menu. Not just any hot dog, a half pound Kobe Beef hot dog for $14. The rest of the menu looked to have some fine options, but I could not pass up my first taste of a Kobe Beef dog. There is also just something about ordering a hot dog when everyone else is eating stuff like steak or lobster bolognese.

Before I get to the meat, I have to mention that Post 390 deserves major props for having Deviled Eggs as an appetizer.

With that out of the way, I am sure you are wondering how the dog was. Well, it was huge. I expected the girth of the dog, but it was almost a foot long as well.  You could definitely taste the quality of the meat. It tasted like so much more than a hot dog. The dog itself had a healthy, pinkish red color to it. Each bite was full of huge flavor.

As a strategy I cut mine in half first, so that I wouldn’t lose too much of the bun to beef ratio that I like to keep, especially when eating an oversized dog. Speaking of the bun, it was legit. You could have piled toppings in it and it was going to hold up. That is quality. Speaking of toppings, they offer it “dragged through the garden” which gave you relish and some veggies. I choose to eat it straight up with just some mustard. I also scooped some of the delicious baked beans onto my dog. They were cooked with real half inch bits of crispy bacon which added that much more to my dining experience. Plus, they had a very smoky Chipolte Ketchup to enjoy the fries with.

The Kobe Beef hot dog is not something I would eat regularly, but more on special occasions. I am glad I gave it a go though, it was a hot dog experience like no other I have had. It is a must try.

Leave a Reply

